Tucson, AZ

Tucson, Arizona

Pima County, Arizona, is the second largest county in Arizona composed of cities Tucson and South Tucson, and Towns of Marana, Oro Valley, and Sahuarita. The Tucson MSA anchors the Arizona Sun Corridor and is only 60 miles north of the U.S./Mexico border.

Pima Association of Governments manages the Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) which is the fiscal authority of the regional transportation plan, approved by Pima County voters in 2006. The 20-year, $2.1 billion regional transportation plan, which expires in June 2026, uses a half-cent sales tax to fund projects outlined in the plan. The taxing district was established by the Arizona State Legislature.

The RTA has delivered more than 890 projects and services as of spring 2021, which includes transit, roadway, safety, and environmental and economic elements.


Tucson, AZ